Greetings, Earthlings

September 20, 2008 at 2:53 am (Uncategorized)

We come in peace….

Well, after living in Korea for almost two months we have finally received our Alien Registration cards!!!  Yay!  So that means they’re not going to kick us out of the country and send us home with no money in our pockets.  Double yay!  We also got our passports back, which definitely made me feel a lot better.  I didn’t like being in a foreign country knowing that my only real piece of international identification was floating around somewhere in the Korean bureaucratic system. 

Our first line of business was to open a bank account – luckily there’s a bank on the main floor of our building, so we didn’t have to go far.  We brought one of the Korean teachers, Charlie, down with us so she could translate the paperwork for us.  We wanted to open a joint account, but apparently Koreans don’t do joint accounts.  Strange.  So we had to open two separate accounts, and will have to transfer money back to our Canadian accounts separately.  Okay, this is starting to get a little boring – I sound like a banker.  Suffice it to say that we opened two bank accounts and got debit cards, so we don’t have to walk around with a huge wad of cash any more.  Dave’s rear end is very happy for this, since he was the one who had to sit on a wallet with all that money 🙂  They still use bank books here, which was a blast from my past.  I remember getting my bank book updated as a kid, and excited I was when I got $0.5 in interest – free money!   Anyway, we tried out our debit cards on the bank’s ATM, and they have a button for service in English!  Wow, the things that excite me sometimes. 

I definitely had the feeling yesterday that we’re no longer just visiting Korea – that we actually live here.  I know it’s a little weird that it’s taken me almost two months to acknowledge this, but up until when we received our Alien cards and opened a bank account this adventure has still felt kind of temporary.  I guess I have mixed feelings about this, since it reminds me of how much I miss everyone back home, and that I won’t be back on that side of the world for many more months.  I feel much more comfortable here now, but there are still days where I’d like to come home and live in a place where I can order a meal in a restaurant, talk to a sales clerk at a store, and read signs without the language barrier we face here.  I think the experience of being here far outweighs these simple everyday conveniences, and am already so amazed at the things we’ve seen and done in less than two months.  Every time we do something new it feels like a major accomplishment, and it’s made me appreciate just how strong Dave and I are.  Yes, we’ve had some low points where we sink into the whole “man, this sucks – I wanna go home” mentality, but they pass, and are happening with less and less frequency. 

We’ve come a long way, baby.  In less than two months we’ve mastered the subway system, visited some cool markets and tried tons of amazing food.  There’s still so much of Seoul, and Korea, to explore, and I know that we’ll have more than enough stories to keep this blog going strong from week to week.  This officially concludes my sentimental rambling for the week.

1 Comment

  1. Bharati Belmore said,

    Just wait till you get home and then that will become a big adjustment too. I was shocked when I first got home at home much Canada, in particular Hamilton seemed foreign too me.

Leave a Reply

